Updated snow-ice warning issued with accumulations up to 5cm

Met Éireann has issued an updated Status Yellow snow-ice warning for eight counties today (Tuesday, February 9) with snow accumulations of up to 5cm expected in places.

Issued at 8:08am this morning, the alert is valid from 8:00am today through to 6:00pm tomorrow evening.

The warning will affect counties: Dublin; Kildare; Louth; Wicklow; Westmeath; Meath; Cavan; and Monaghan.

In these counties, Met Éireann warns that snow accumulations of 2 to 5cm are forecast in places.

Met Éireann’s weather advisory for Ireland remains in effect; it came into force on Sunday morning and will remain valid until 6:00pm tomorrow.

In this advisory, the national meteorological office warns of showers of sleet or snow at times in eastern counties, which will lead to hazardous conditions on roads and paths.

Meanwhile, in Northern Ireland, the UK Met Office has a Yellow snow and ice warning in place for counties: Antrim; Armagh; Down; and Tyrone. This came into effect at 5:00pm yesterday and will remain in place until 11:00am this morning.

Snow showers and icy stretches over parts of Northern Ireland will lead to some travel disruption, the office notes.

This will be replaced by another Yellow snow and ice warning for Antrim, Armagh and Down, which will come into effect at 4:00pm this evening and remain in effect until 11:00am tomorrow.