Congratulations to Moynalty Co Meath officially Ireland’s Tidiest Town for 2013.  Moynalty was today named best of the 832 towns and villages that entered this year’s SuperValu National TidyTowns competition.

On hand to present the prizes was Phil Hogan TD, Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government and Martin Kelleher, Managing Director of SuperValu, the competition’s sponsor.

Moynalty also claimed the award of Ireland’s Tidiest Village. Other winners included Kenmare, Co Kerry which received the award for Ireland’s Tidiest Small Town, Killarney, Co Kerry received the award of Ireland’s Tidiest Large Town, and Ennis, Co. Clare retained their title as Ireland’s Tidiest Large Urban Centre.

Speaking after the awards Minister Hogan said: “This is a fantastic achievement for Moynalty after 53 years in the competition; a really worthy winner. My congratulations to Moynalty and all of the other prize-winners today.  I am always impressed by the ambition and enthusiasm of all those involved in the TidyTowns effort. These people volunteer their time, effort and expertise, year on year, to help make their communities better places to live and work in.  The results of their efforts are obvious in the attractive, well cared-for towns and villages we see throughout the country.

“It is clear that working together, getting to know your neighbours, and getting things done increases peoples’ pride in where they live and helps to build vibrant communities.  This is why I am delighted to see this competition continues to sustain great interest, even after 55 years.”

Interest in the SuperValu TidyTowns competition has been consistently high in recent times with the number of entries exceeding 800 each year for the last three years.  This year communities were encouraged to “Help their communities shine” in a promotional campaign by the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government and sponsor SuperValu.

Full details of all this year’s winners are available at

Pictured SuperValu Tidy Towns Awards Moynalty Winners