Moy Park’s top 20 farmers receive awards

Moy Park has recognised 20 of its top performing farmers at its Annual Farming Awards, the food company says.

The annual awards recognise those who have delivered continuous and sustained improvement in agriculture standards over the past year, it says.

Awards included the ‘Innovation Award’, ‘Higher Welfare Award’ and ‘Young Grower of the Year’.

Alan Gibson, UK and Ireland Director, said that as a leading food company, agriculture excellence is at the heart of our business.

“This awards ceremony, now in its 17th year, provided us with the perfect opportunity to recognise and reward the top performing Moy Park farmers across Northern Ireland for their outstanding work,” he said.

Gibson said that the category winners and runner-ups have all demonstrated a commitment to sustainability, welfare and quality; an ethos that that the company consider to be incredibly important at Moy Park.

“We continue to work closely with our farming base across Northern Ireland and the UK to ensure our standards and practices are industry leading,” he said.

Here is the full list of awards from the ceremony which was held at the Armagh City Hotel:

Grandparent Rearing Award: Stanley Gordon from Churchill, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh.

Grandparent Laying Award :Derek McKeown from Ballygawley, Co. Tyrone.

Parent Stock Rearing Award: Ian Millar from Sion Mills, Co. Tyrone.

Parent Stock Laying Award – Small: Alan, Noeleen and Stephen Holden from Donemanagh, Co. Tyrone.

Parent Stock Laying Award – Large: Ian Trimble from Donaghmore, Co. Tyrone.

Alternative Breed Award: Billy Nixon from Donemanagh, Co. Tyrone.

Standard / Standard Plus Award – Small: Declan McCloskey from Loughgiel, Co. Antrim.

Standard / Standard Plus Award – Large: Brian Quinn from Donaghmore, Co. Tyrone.

High Welfare Award – Small: William Montgomery from Broughshane, Co. Antrim.

High Welfare Award – Large: Paul Hobson from Dungannon, Co. Tyrone.

Free Range Rearing Award: Ian Alexander from Templepatrick, Co. Antrim.

Free Range Day Old to Finish Award: George McWhirter from Collone, Co. Armagh.

Free Range Finishing Award: Raymond Orr from Clogher, Co. Tyrone.

Organic Finishing Award: Kingsley Bell from Aughnacloy, Co. Tyrone.

Turkey Breeder Award: Jack Compton from Rathkenny, Co. Antrim.

Turkey Free Range Award: Emma and Cathal McAuley from Cushendall, Co. Antrim.

Turkey High Welfare / Standard Award: Patrick McGinley from Omagh, Co. Tyrone.

Best Young Breeder Award: Jonny Kirk from Saintfield, Co. Down.

Best Young Grower Award: Gareth Murray, Aghalee, Co. Antrim.

Innovation Award: Graham McIlroy from Aghadowey, Co. Londonderry.