Macra presidency to be handed over later today

The 36th National President of Macra na Feirme is set to be elected later today; the Vice Presidents will also be confirmed.

Sean Finan, who current occupies the office, will hand over the responsibility of President to either Odile Evans or James Healy – once the ballots have been counted.

Finan, from Castlerea Macra in Co. Roscommon, was elected in 2015.

The out-going President was elected following a campaign in which four candidates vied for the role. Finan triumphed, reaching the quota after the third count.

Finan is a founding member of Castlerea Macra and was elected as North West Vice President in 2013.

Macra elects a National President and a National Council, made up of three regional Vice Presidents, every two years.

A National Executive is also elected every year, made up of a National Chairperson, a National Treasurer and a National Secretary.

Who will be the new President of Macra na Feirme?

In 2017, two candidates declared their intention to run for the position of Macra na Feirme President.

Odile Evans, the current Vice President and National Treasurer of the young farmers organisation declared her intention to run at a meeting in Co. Wicklow in early January.

A graduate of Food and Agribusiness Management from UCD, Evans grew up on a dairy farm and works as a journalist.

Meanwhile, Corkman James Healy also declared his intention to run for one of the top jobs in Macra.

Healy is an Associate Member on Macra na Feirme’s National Council and has previously held the position of Cork County Chair.

Hailing from a small holding in Co. Cork, Healy is employed as a production supervisor with an electronics company.

The candidates attended hustings throughout the country in recent weeks.

Some of the Vice Presidency roles have already been decided; Cara O’Mahony, from Mountain View, Naas, Co. Kildare, is set to succeed Evans as the Leinster Vice President.

Ger Griffin will hand over, as a Vice President, to Tom O’Donoghue from Crowhill Upper, Cappoquin, Co. Waterford, later today.

The North West Vice Presidency role is being contested by Sharon Corcoran from Rathkelly Close, Ballinrobe, Co. Mayo and Brendan Curran from Gorvagh, Mohill, Co. Leitrim.

The winner of this campaign race will also be announced later today.