Why were none of the three farmer candidates for the Irish Dairy Board (IDB) not worthy of selection as chairman? This is the question the Irish Farmers Association (IFA) is asking this afternoon.

While welcoming the election of Aurivo Co-op chief executive Aaron Forde as the incoming chairman of the IDB, following the resignation of Vincent Buckley, the association was guarded.

“Dairy farmers will be asking why none of the three capable and experienced farmer candidates were worthy of selection as chairman,” IFA President John Bryan said in a statement.

“The next number of years will be very important for the Irish Dairy Board. As farmers regain control of processing, they will now be demanding strong leadership to sort out the duplication of costs and activities to ensure the dairy board is fit for purpose as the sector expands and develops,” he added.

Aurivo Co-op chief was appointed the incoming chairman of the IDB this week, following the resignation of Vincent Buckley. IFA national dairy committee chairman Kevin Kiersey has been elected as vice-chairman, succeeding Jackie Cahill. The four candidates for chairman were Kevin Kiersey, Aaron Forde, Jackie Cahill and John O’Brien.

RelatedGold role for new Dairy Board

Image Irish Dairy Board