Anti-pylon rural community groups are to meet the Oireachtas Joint Committee on Transport and Communications this morning.

The groups from the south-east and north-east regions are to voice their concerns around the proposed upgrade of the National Grid.

Present at the meeting tomorrow will be:

Helena Fitzgerald – Save Our Heartland, Carlow
John McCusker – Comeragh Action Pylon Group
Peter Smith – Save County Tipperary Anti Pylon Group
Owen Bannigan – Monaghan Anti-Pylon Committee
Nigel Hillis – Monaghan Anti-Pylon Committee
May Marron – Monaghan Anti-Pylon Committee
Cian Moloney – Action D9, New Ross, Co. Wexford

Speaking on the issue, chairman of the committee Mayo Deputy John O’Mahony said: “Capacity on the country’s electricity grid has remained largely unchanged over the past 20 years, a period that has seen considerable growth in the electricity demand being carried by the system. The Grid25 project seeks to provide the capacity for Ireland’s electricity needs in the coming decades, meeting the increased demand and facilitating greater use of renewable energy.”

He noted that “the committee is acutely aware of the fears and frustrations being felt in many parts of the country in light of the proposed upgrade and, particularly, the installation of new pylons and transmission lines”.

On the meeting he said: “The committee will have an opportunity to engage with a cross section of community representatives on this contentious issue in a comprehensive and open manner. The meeting will inform a hearing in December with representatives from EirGrid, in which the key concerns by the community groups will be aired.”

AgriLand will be reporting live.

Image Shutterstock