FBD chairman to head up Young Farmer of the Year award judging panel

Michael Berkery, Chairman of FBD, will head up a team of judges for the prestigious FBD Young Farmer of the Year awards. Michael will chair the final adjudication panel of Macra na Feirme’s competition on Tuesday in the Westlodge Hotel, Bantry, Co. Cork.

The judging panel includes Dr. Karina Pierce, UCD; Willie Fahey, IFAC Accountants; Pat O’ Toole, Irish Farmers Journal and Dr. Edward O’Riordan, Head of Teagasc Grange Beef Research Centre.

The FBD Young Farmer of the Year awards is run by Macra na Feirme in partnership with the IFA. The aim of the competition is to recognise and reward the top young farmers in the country. Entrants are judged according to a number of criteria including farm business initiative and innovation, levels of farm efficiency and enterprise quality, farm safety and environmental protection awareness, as well as agricultural knowledge and community involvement.

The overall winner of the competition will receive a bursary to undertake international travel and study farm practices.


Please be considerate of others when commenting. All comments posted are subject to our commenting policy. Comments violating this policy will be removed without notice.

We Have A Quick Question

Thank you for your input! This will help us improve the content we produce for you in the future!
What farming enterprises are you involved in?