Rainfall warning in place for 11 counties

A Status Yellow rainfall warning is currently in place for 11 counties, according to Met Éireann.

The warning was issued earlier today (Tuesday, September 29) and came into effect this afternoon at 4:00pm.

The effected counties are: Wicklow; Cavan; Donegal; Galway; Leitrim; Mayo; Sligo; Clare; Cork; Kerry; and Waterford.

The affected counties are set to see spells of heavy rain this evening, overnight and tomorrow morning, which will move eastwards over the country, resulting in 25mm to 40 mm of rain and a risk of localised flooding.

The highest amounts of rainfall will be in the southwest of the country and in mountainous areas.

The weather warning will remain in effect until 12:00pm (noon) tomorrow.

After the warning lifts, brighter weather with scattered heavy showers will extend from the west to all areas through the late morning and afternoon. Highest temperatures tomorrow should be 13° to 15° degrees, with fresh to strong and gusty southerly winds through the morning, which will turn west to northwest and ease somewhat as rain clears.

However, it will turn cooler and more unsettled for the rest of the week and weekend.

Thursday (October 1) will see widespread showers for a time, some of which will be heavy and possibly thundery with hail. Sunny spells will occur also. Light southerly breezes will veer westerly. It will be cool, with highest temperatures of just 10° to 12°.