The positions of president and deputy president at the Irish Creamery Milk Suppliers Association (ICMSA) have been confirmed today.

Following the completion of the nomination process today (December 8), the ICMSA has announced that Pat McCormack will take over the role of president from John Comer.

McCormack – who farms at Greenane, Co. Tipperary – was elected dairy chairperson in December 2009 and has been deputy president since December 2011, when he also succeeded Comer.

Meanwhile, the position of deputy president – which is being vacated by McCormack – has been filled by Lorcan McCabe from Co. Cavan.

New ICMSA deputy president Lorcan McCabe

McCabe has previously served as chairperson of the Farm Business Committee and chairperson of the Farm Services and Environment Committee.

Both men – who bring considerable experience and knowledge with them – will take up their new positions on Tuesday, December 19, at the AGM of the ICMSA’s National Council.

Each candidate was elected unopposed to their respective positions, where they will now serve a three-year term.

Comer’s six years at the helm was widely applauded at the association’s AGM for members in Limerick last month.

Hailing from Co. Mayo, Comer became a National Council member of the ICMSA in 2000 and was elected as deputy president in 2007.

He first took up the role of president in late 2011 – when he replaced now Fianna Fail TD Jackie Cahill. He has now completed two three-year stints at the helm of the organisation.

Election season

Other farm organisations are also in the midst of election fever. Two candidates – Nigel Renaghan from Co. Monaghan and James Speares from Co. Cavan – are contesting the race to become the Irish Farmers’ Association (IFA) regional chairman for Ulster / North Leinster.

The husting process has reached the halfway stage and an announcement is expected late next week following a count of votes from the various county meetings.

The leadership of the Irish Cattle and Sheep Farmers’ Association (ICSA) is also being contested by current president Patrick Kent and the association’s rural development chairman, Seamus Sherlock.

A result from this election race is also expected this month.