New snow-ice warning issued for 23 counties later this week

Met Éireann has issued a new Status Yellow snow-ice warning for 23 counties for Thursday (February 11).

Issued this morning (Tuesday, February 9) at 10:00am, the alert will be valid from 8:00am on Thursday morning through to 8:00am on Friday.

The warning will affect Munster, Connacht and Leinster – with only Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan excluded.

According to Met Éireann, a band of sleet and snow is due to spread northeastwards during Thursday giving sSnow accumulations of up to 5cm are expected in some areas, higher over the mountains.

This is expected to transition to rain in the west and south on Thursday night.

Meanwhile, an updated Status Yellow snow-ice warning was issued for eight counties today.

Issued at 8:08am this morning, the alert is valid from 8:00am today through to 6:00pm tomorrow evening.

The warning will affect counties: Dublin; Kildare; Louth; Wicklow; Westmeath; Meath; Cavan; and Monaghan.

In these counties, Met Éireann warns that snow accumulations of 2 to 5cm are forecast in places.

Met Éireann’s weather advisory for Ireland remains in effect; it came into force on Sunday morning and will remain valid until 6:00pm tomorrow.

In this advisory, the national meteorological office warns of showers of sleet or snow at times in eastern counties, which will lead to hazardous conditions on roads and paths.