The nomination process for Macra na Feirme’s presidential and vice-presidential candidates has now closed and the election candidates have been announced.

Every two years, Macra clubs elect a new National President and three Vice Presidents to represent the young farmers and rural youth organisation.

Candidates for National President

Eamon Cassells, Gillstown, Athboy, Co. Meath

Paddy Delaney, Cremorgan, Timahoe, Portlaoise

Séan Finan, Ballinlough, Castlerea, Co. Rosommon

Michelle O’Callaghan, Shanballyrea, Knockraha, Co.Cork

Leinster Vice President Candidates

Noel Duffy, Athlone road, Ferbane, Co. Offaly

Odile Evans, Plattenstown, Arklow, Co. Wicklow

Aoife Lanigan, 7 Rosemount, Newpark Drive, Kilkenny

Munster Vice President Candidate

Gerard Griffin, Barnahown, Araglen, Fermoy, Co. Cork

North West Vice President Candidates

Ray Gilmartin, Corlough, Drumshanbo, Co. Leitrim

Caroline O’Dowd, Gurteen, Ballymote, Co. Sligo

The election will take place in the Irish Farm Centre in Dublin on April 7, 2015, and the elected candidates will take up office at the Macra AGM on May 9, 2015. The deadline for ballots is 1pm on April 7.