Dairygold announces the winner of its 2015 Milk Quality Awards

A Cork-based dairy farmer, Sean Moher took top honours at the 2015 Dairygold Milk Quality Awards on Thursday night.

According to Dairygold, the awards were based on 2015 milk quality data for all 3,000 Dairygold milk suppliers, taking account of milk quality, dairy facilities, herd health, sustainability and farm health and safety.

The competition was judged UCD’s Karina Pierce and Teagasc Dairy Specialist Dan Crowley, who visited 18 farmers before picking Sean Moher as this year’s winner.

Moher farms on the Cork-Tipperary border, ably assisted by his parents Jim and Peggy. He is married to teacher Treasa and they have two small children.

The judges said that the Moher farm was an excellent example of what good management and high standards of production can achieve with the farm recording an EBI of over €161.

“Sean has a very impressive dairying operation where regular measurement plays a vital role in the success of his enterprise.

Sean regularly measures a variety of activities including milk recording, grass growth and soil fertility.

“The commitment to measurement is helping Sean to maintain an extremely efficient cost of production, the lowest of all finalists,” they said.

Dairygold Chairman, James Lynch said the Moher was a very deserving winner and he wished him and his family every success in the future.

“Sean is a very remarkable farmer with well-kept facilities and a keen awareness of the importance of hygiene, safety and sustainability,” he said.

Finalists and winners of Dairygold Milk Quality Awards for 2015

Mitchelstown Region

  1. Sean Moher
  2. John Maher
  3. Philip Casey

Mallow Region

  1. Gurrane View Limited – Denis Flynn
  2. Patrick Murphy
  3. Patrick Creedon

Mid-Cork Region

  1. Denis O’Mahony
  2. Robert Lane
  3. James Barrett

East-Cork Region

  1. Warren Farm – Bart O’Sullivan and Richard O’Neill
  2. Joseph and Olivia Morrissey
  3. John and Mary Coleman

Limerick Region

  1. Timmy and Therese Ryan
  2. John and Anne Hennessy
  3. Patrick Barry

Tipperary Region

  1. James O’Leary
  2. Thomas Horan
  3. E M Tobin Farm Ltd