Semi-finalists announced for the FBD Young Farmer of the Year competiton

Over 30 young farmers entered this year’s FBD Young Farmer of the Year competition from the dairy, beef, sheep and tillage sectors, Macra na Feirme has announced.

In recent weeks, the county finalists from each enterprise have been put through their paces in a series of interviews as part of the semi-final stage.

The final six will be announced at the national final in Co. Louth on September 6, while the overall winner of the FBD Young Farmer of the Year competition will be announced on the night.

Prizes will also be awarded to the winners of the beef, dairy, sheep and tillage/other categories.


  • David O’Sullivan, Kilbrittain Macra (Carbery)
  • David Scallan, Kiltealy/Ballindaggin Macra (Wexford)
  • Diarmuid Fitzgerald, Sixmilebridge Macra (Clare)
  • Edward Payne, South Roscommon Macra (Roscommon)
  • Howard Porter, Johnstown/Coolgreany Macra (Wicklow)
  • Kevin Keane, Causeway Macra (Kerry)
  • Kevin Moran, Claremorris Macra (Mayo)
  • Lorcan Collins, Donoughmore Macra (Muskerry)
  • Owen Ashtown, Fermoy Macra (Avondhu)
  • Sean Ahern, Glanmire Macra (Seandun)
  • Thomas Duffy, Ramor Macra (Cavan)
  • Thomas Hayes, Devils Bit Macra (North Tipperary)



  • Ambrose Maguire, South Longford Macra (Longford)
  • Brian Keegan, South Kildare Macra (Kildare)
  • Ciaran O’Connell, Ramor Macra (Cavan)
  • Joe Twomey, Banteer Macra (Avondhu)
  • Robert West, Benbulben Macra (Sligo)
  • Sean Galligan, Castlebar Macra (Mayo)
  • Stephen Bradley, Inishowen Macra (Donegal)
  • Steven Tierney, Fethard Macra (South Tipperary)
  • Dara Finnerty, South Roscommon Macra (Roscommon)
  • Michael Kenny Ferbane Macra (Offaly)

cattle 4


  • Dave Heraty, Westport Macra (Mayo)
  • John Gahan, Tullow Macra (Carlow)
  • Mattie John Kelly, South Roscommon Macra (Roscommon)
  • Michael Sinnot Jr, Johnstown/Coolgreany Macra (Wicklow)
  • Sean Cummins Kiltealy/Ballindaggin Macra, (Wexford)
  • Paddy Delaney, Portlaoise Macra (Laois)

spring lamb

Tillage and other

  • Ian Howard, Ardcath IFA (Meath) – Tillage
  • Stephen Robb, Proper Job Macra (Donegal) – Tillage
  • William Kehoe, Cushinstown Macra (Wexford) – Tillage
  • Siobhan Gallagher, South Leitrim Macra (Leitrim) – Equine
  • Shane Halpin, North County Dublin Macra (Dublin) – Tillage

tillage harvest crops