Rainfall warning issued for 12 counties with risk of localised flooding

Met Éireann has issued a Status Yellow rainfall warning for 12 counties, warning of heavy rain and a risk of localised flooding over the coming days.

Issued at 1:00pm this afternoon (Tuesday, January 26), the weather alert will be valid from 6:00pm tomorrow evening through to 6:00am on Thursday.

The warning will be valid for counties: Galway; Mayo; Roscommon; Sligo; Leitrim; Donegal; Cavan; Monaghan; Longford; Louth; Westmeath; and Meath.

In these counties, Met Éireann warns there will be heavy rain and a risk of localised flooding.

Turning back to today’s weather, Met Éireann says that rain in the northeast will clear eastwards early this afternoon.

It will be mostly cloudy elsewhere with patches of mist and drizzle with just a few sunny spells.

Temperatures will be cool in Ulster with afternoon highs of 5° to 7° but conditions will be milder elsewhere with highs of 7° to 11°. It will be breezy too, in moderate, occasionally fresh southerly winds, veering westerly during the day.

Tonight will bring patchy outbreaks of rain and drizzle, according to the national meteorological office.

Mist and low cloud are expected too, in just light variable breezes. Lowest temperatures of 4° to 6° are forecast over the northern half of the country, with conditions less cold further south – with temperatures dropping to between 7° and 9°.