More weather warnings issued for 23 counties around Ireland

Further Status Yellow weather warnings have been issued by Met Éireann for 23 counties in the Republic of Ireland – with a Yellow alert also announced for Northern Ireland.

A Status Yellow snow-ice warning will affect Connacht, Leinster, Cavan, Monaghan and Donegal.

Issued at 12:00pm today (Thursday, February 11), the alert will come into effect at 2:00am on Saturday morning, February 12. It will remain in place until 12:00pm on Saturday.

In these counties, snow accumulations of 5cm are possible (more on higher ground), accompanied by fresh to strong southeast winds.

Meanwhile, a rainfall warning has been issued for counties Cork, Kerry and Waterford. Issued at 12:00pm today, this alert will be in place from 1:00am on Saturday morning through to 12:00pm the same day.

30 to 40mm of rainfall is expected in these counties with strong to gale force onshore southeast winds. River and coastal flooding risk.

Finally, a Yellow snow and ice warning has been issued by the UK Met Office for all six Northern Irish counties

The Met Office says that, for Northern Ireland, snow is likely to spread east during Saturday with some accumulations in places and icy stretches. There will be the potential for disruption to travel.

This warning was updated this morning and will be valid from 12:00am on Saturday through to 11:59pm on Saturday night.