Macra na Feirme National Leadership Awards winners announced

Macra na Feirme has revealed the winning participants in its National Leadership Awards.

Run in conjunction with ABP, the National Leadership Awards recognises members of Macra na Feirme who display particular leadership qualities in the young farmers’ organisation.

Guest speaker on the night was Newstalk radio host and former chairman of Insomnia Coffee Bobby Kerr.

Seven finalists were selected for the awards and were each recognised on the night for their abilities.

These were: Charlie Smyth from Ramor Macra, Co. Cavan; Jennifer Hall from Ashford Co. Wicklow; Sarah Condren, from Wicklow; Una Ryan from Ballinahinch/Killoscully Macra, North Tipperary; Cormac Lehane of Carrigaline, Seandun, Co. Cork; Sean Wallace from Donoughmore Macra, Muskerry Co. Cork; and Paul O’Regan from Kinsale, Seandun, Co. Cork.

From the group of finalists, Sean Wallace from Donaghmore Macra, Muskerry, Sarah Condron from Johnstown/Coolgreany Macra and Jennifer Hall of Ashford Macra.

Jennifer Hall is a trainee accountant with an insurance company and has also studied a diploma in veterinary nursing. She is the county chairwoman for Wicklow Macra, and is secretary for her club.

The Wicklow woman previously served as treasurer and won a gold award in this capacity. Jennifer also farms part-time at home on a beef and sheep enterprise.

Sarah Condren, who is from north Co. Wexford – as guest speaker Bobby Kerr was quick to point out – joined Macra na Feirme in 2010. Sarah, who works for the Department of Agriculture, completed a masters in ruminant nutrition in UCD, and also holds a degree in animal science.

The 28-year-old has previously been treasurer and chairwoman of her club. Sarah has won multiple accolades in macra in senior dairy stockjudging, drama and winning a gold leadership award. She is county secretary for Wicklow Macra.

Sean is a 24-year-old software engineer who has served as national secretary, during which time Donaghmore went on to win its first club of the year title in 2015. The same period saw Donaghmore increase from 33 to 58 members, taking part in 100% of national competitions.

He has served as the Muskerry national council representative over the last three years. He was elected as national secretary in 2016 and again in 2017.