Connacht IFA in deadlock – five candidates and none with backing signature

Five candidates have been nominated once again in Connacht for the position of Connacht IFA Chair.

The five candidates have been backed by their respective counties at meetings held in the region this week.

Last night, Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim held IFA county executive meetings to decide if each county would nominate a candidate to run for Connacht Chairman.

Sligo IFA met in Sally Gardens, Ballisadare, where Eddie Davitt the former County Chairman was nominated by the county again.

County Chairman JP Cowley said that Sligo nominated Davitt and that he had the full support of the room.

Padraic Joyce was nominated by the Mayo IFA county executive held in Castlebar last night where over 40 farmers turned up for the meeting.

Joyce, a dairy and beef finisher, said that he received the full support of the room.

Meanwhile, at the Leitrim County executive meeting held in the Bush Hotel in Carrick-on-Shannon, Des McHugh from Ballinamore was nominated by the county.

It is understood that no-one ran against him and he told Agriland that Leitrim is a proud IFA county.

At the Galway and Roscommon county executives held on Wednesday night, each county nominated a candidate to go forward for the Connacht IFA job.

Tom Turley, the incumbent, was backed by Galway and John O’Beirne was backed by Roscommon.

The deadline for nominations for the position is at 5.30pm today, February 12 and with no county left with a nomination to give another – the IFA may have to consider a rule change to allow at least one name to go forward.