The nomination process for the 38th Macra na Feirme presidential and vice-presidential elections is now closed.

The young farmers association has confirmed the list of candidates for the upcoming elections, which will feature the races for national president; Leinster vice-president; Munster vice president; and North West vice-president.

The candidates are as follows:

  • National president:
    • John Keane, North Tipperary;
    • Daniel Long, South Tipperary;
  • Leinster vice-president:
    • Claire Gough, Meath;
  • Munster vice-president:
    • Áine McCarthy, Cork;
    • Elaine Houlihan, Limerick;
  • North-West vice-president:
    • Luna Orofiamma.

Each candidate will be profiled in the Macra na Feirme election booklet which will be available on the association’s website from next week.

The election will take place in Dublin on Wednesday, April 7, and the elected candidates will take up office at the Macra AGM in May.

Ballot papers will be issued on Wednesday, March 17th. The deadline for ballots is 1:00pm on April 7.

A series of hustings will take place place virtually on Zoom starting next week.

The dates of the hustings, and the areas they will cover, are as follows:

  • Wednesday, March 10, Leinster;
  • Friday, March 12, Northwest;
  • Monday, March 15, Munster;
  • Friday, March 19, Leinster;
  • Monday, March 22, North West;
  • Wednesday, March 24, Munster.

Following the confirmation of candidates, outgoing president Thomas Duffy said: “Election season is always an exciting time of year even if this year will be different from others. Every effort will be made to ensure, despite restrictions, all members have the ability to exercise their democratic right.”