shortlisted for two awards at the 2016 Agricultural Journalism Awards has been shortlisted for two awards for the 2016 Agricultural Journalism Awards, organised by the Guild of Agricultural Journalists and supported by FBD Insurance.

The bi-annual awards aim to encourage excellence in the coverage by media of farming, food and rural life on the island of Ireland. has been shortlisted for the Best Online category for its coverage of the IFA pay scandal and also for Best Targeted Campaign for its Elanco Blowfly Campaign.

Over 200 entries were received for this year’s awards across eight categories and 24 entries have made the final shortlist.

The Agricultural Journalism Awards are open to journalists, photographers and broadcasters in national and local media and also to specialist consultants in the communication sector, whose work has been published, broadcast or implemented in either Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland.

The winners of each category and the overall winner of the coveted ‘Bull’ trophy, will be announced at an awards ceremony in Dublin on the evening of Friday November 4, 2016.

The judging panel is: Alan Dukes (Chairman), Public Affairs Consultant and former Government Minister; Sheila Reilly, Editor, Longford Leader; Ray Ryan, former Agricultural Correspondent, Irish Examiner; Joe O’Brien, former Agricultural Correspondent, RTE; Dr. Pat Wall, Professor of Public Health, UCD; and Richard Wright, former Agricultural Correspondent, BBC Northern Ireland.

The 2016 finalists in the Agricultural Journalism Awards are:

Best Online

IFA Presidential Hustings and Election Day, Irish Farmers Journal, Patrick Donohoe
IFA Pay Scandal, Agriland, Agriland Team,
Reaching the Joyce Farm in Floods, Irish Farmers Journal, Michael Moroney

Best Print News Article

IFA: Crisis to New Beginnings, Irish Farmers Journal, Patrick Donohoe
Who’s Telling Porkies?, The Sunday Times, Mark Tighe
IFA Crisis, Farming Independent, Louise Hogan/Darragh McCullough & Team

Best Print Feature Article

Cowtown Revisited, Farming Independent, Declan O’Brien
60 Years of Clare IFA, Clare Champion, Dan Danaher
Farm Safety – Victim Interviews, Irish Farmers Journal, Patrick Donohoe

Best TV Programme/Story

Big Week on the Farm, Independent Pictures/RTE, Conor Moloney/Liam Lavelle
Rural Crime, Ear to the Ground, Agtel/RTE, Helen Carroll
High Steaks, RTE, Fran McNulty

Best Radio Programme/Story

Whose Land Is It, Anyway? Radio Kerry, Aisling O’Brien
60 Years of IFA – RTE Radio One, Countrywide, Damien O’Reilly
Here Comes the Rain Again, Clare Fm, Gavin Grace

Best Technical Article

Useless Pedigree Bulls Cost Farmers Millions, Irish Farmers Journal, Kieran Mailey
The Future Is Bio, TResearch, Teagasc, Laura Devaney/Maeve Henchion
On & Off Farm series, Irish Farmers Journal, Peter Varley

Best Targeted Campaign

Elanco Blowfly Campaign, Agriland, Cormac Farrelly
Agri Careers Fair, Irish Farmers Journal, Mary Phelan
Safety First When It Comes to Quads, IFP/Irish Farmers Monthly, Bernie Commins

Best Photograph

One Girl and Her Dog – Valerie O’Sullivan, Killarney, Co Kerry
Flooded Land – Ray Ryan, Tuam, Co. Galway
Three Amigos – Chris McCullough, Belfast, Northern Ireland