Von der Leyen informed of 2 Irish commission candidates

President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen has confirmed that the Irish government has nominated its two candidates to succeed Phil Hogan as Ireland’s representative on the European Commission.

President von der Leyen noted that: First Vice-President of the European Parliament and Irish MEP for Midlands-North West Mairead McGuinness; and former vice-president of the European Investment Bank Andrew McDowell have been nominated.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin informed the commission president earlier today.

Taking to social media this afternoon (Friday, September 4), the commission president tweeted:

“The Taoiseach Micheál Martin has informed me of the nomination of Mairead McGuinness and Andrew McDowell as the Irish candidates for the post of commissioner.

“I will interview them early next week on their qualifications for the job,” President von der Leyen added.

It is not yet known what commission portfolio the successful Irish candidate will take on, with a commission reshuffle possible.

This follows the resignation of Phil Hogan as European Commissioner for Trade last month.

Hogan had been facing mounting pressure to resign from his role, following his attendance at the controversial Oireachtas Golf Society function in August.